Peter McIlroy Wins Variety Class Trophy After A Great, Windy 2017 Season.

August 26, 2017

We've alway said that a well-sailed Sunfish can win all the marbles, if we had any marbles. And Peter McIlroy proved it again in the 2017 season, posting great consistent finishes, often in high-wind, challenging conditions, to take the 2017 Variety Class Championship. Tom Tys, sailing his Thistle with John Fisher, came in second, with Tom running the early races on a Sunfish. And Roy Cooley overcame high winds


(Peter McIlroy Photo TK. Chips? Anybody?)


Roy Cooley


and a fractured transom on his ultralight RS Aero to finish third. All in all, it's been a great, exciting 2017 season, with no low-wind races, lots of inspired competition, a few good new sailors, including Michael and Rebecca Bellevtille, and no major collisions! Let's hope the 2018 season (which starts August 26) will be just as memorable and unpredictable. 


Tom Tys and John Fisher



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

With four races in the books, the 2020 PYC season got off to an exciting start, with excellent turnouts for so late in the summer. The August 24 races...

The 2020 Season is On! Tom Tys, Chips Arend, Tiff Ford Swap Wins

September 2, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square


  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube

© 2018 by Tiff Ford. Proudly created with